Self Help & Motivation

Self Help & Motivation

  • Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

    Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

    Ksh 1099

    Brief Summary Maybe it was a grandparent, or a teacher or a colleague. Someone older, patient and wise, who understood you when you were young and searching, and gave you sound advice to help you make your way through it. For Mitch Albom, that person was Morrie Schwartz, his college professor from nearly twenty years ago. Maybe, like Mitch, you lost track of this mentor as you made your way, and the insights faded. Wouldn't you like to see that person again, ask the bigger questions that still haunt you? Mitch Albom had that second chance. He rediscovered Morrie in the last months of the older man's life. Knowing he was dying of ALS - or motor neurone disease - Mitch visited Morrie in his study every Tuesday, just as they used to back in college. Their rekindled relationship turned into one final 'class': lessons in how to live.   

  • Die Empty by Todd Henry

    Die Empty by Todd Henry

    Ksh 1799

    Brief Summary Die Empty: Unleash Your Best Work Every Day Most of us live with the stubborn idea that we'll always have tomorrow. But sooner or later all of our tomorrows will run out. Each day that you postpone the hard work and succumb to the clutter that chokes creativity, discipline, and innovation will result in a net deficit to the world, to your company, and to yourself. Die Empty is a tool for individuals and companies that aren't willing to put off their best work.  Todd Henry explains the forces that keep people in stagnation and introduces a three-part process for tapping into your passion: Excavate: Find the bedrock of your work to discover what drives you. Cultivate: Learn how to develop the curiosity, humility, and persistence that save you from getting stuck in ruts. Resonate: Learn how your unique brilliance can inspire others. Henry shows how to find and sustain your passion and curiosity, even in tough times.  

  • The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway

    The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway

    Ksh 1099

    Brief Summary Traditional Chinese edition of The Old Man and The Sea edited for young adults. The story is told with text and graphics and accompanied with Zhuying (phonetic annotation).  A reading guide of this Hemingway classic helps young readers develop their writing skills.  

  • The Little Black Book of Success

    The Little Black Book of Success

    Ksh 1499

    Brief Summary The Little Black Book of Success: Laws of Leadership for Black Women In this engaging and invaluable “mentor in your pocket,” three dynamic and successful black female executives share their strategies to help all black women, at any level of their careers, play the power game—and win. Rich with wisdom, this practical gem focuses on the building blocks of true leadership—self-confidence, effective communication, collaboration, and courage—while dealing specifically with stereotypes (avoid the Mammy Trap, and don’t become the Angry Black Woman) and the perils of self-victimization (don’t assume that every challenge occurs because you are black or female). Some leaders are born, but most leaders are made—and The Little Black Book of Success will show you how to make it to the top, one step at a time.  

  • When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

    When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

    Ksh 999

    Brief Summary For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.  

  • Making Cents by Waceke Nduati

    Making Cents by Waceke Nduati

    Ksh 1199

    Brief Summary My story entailed what I was told about money as a child, what I saw and experienced with money and how it led to what I did with my money later.  The book covers the social pressure I underwent in university, the debt I got into without knowing how debt worked and how I had to struggle to pay it out.  It's living the life where I knew I was going to get paid on the 24th so why bother to save and invest? Making Cents became a story. Where I shared the story of three other characters.  

  • Life Lists For Mothers

    Life Lists For Mothers

    Ksh 1299

    Brief Summary What a versatile book! Life Lists for Mothers includes 101 practical lists that give at-a-glance information to moms of all ages and stages. It even features interactive sections with prompts so you can create your own lists.  And, Scripture is sprinkled throughout. This is not only a perfect gift for yourself and all the moms in your family, but order extras to use as door prizes at spring events, baby showers, and as a Mother’s Day gift for the women in your church! This hardcover book is filled with full-color, beautifully illustrated pages that will feed your eyes while the words feed your spirit! The 4.8” x 7.3” size makes it just the right size to tuck into a pocket or purse and read during those miscellaneous moments during the day—whether on breaks at work or while doing all those errands moms do. The foil-graced cover and gilt edging on pages make it especially giftable! You’ll also love the companion Checklist for Mothers, inspirational boxed cards!  

  • Life Lists for Women Hardcover

    Life Lists for Women Hardcover

    Ksh 1499

    Brief Summary Whimsically designed, the Life Lists for Women gift book features daily tidbits of wisdom which are easy to apply to daily life. The calming blue tones and hand-drawn accents are subtle and appealing. Powerful Scripture has been carefully laced throughout the pages, along with encouraging thoughts which will motivate, inspire, and challenge the women you know.  Making a thoughtful gift, Life Lists for Women would make the perfect gift for Mother's Day, birthdays, or just because  

  • The New Leaders by Daniel Goleman, Richard Boyatzis and Annie McKee

    The New Leaders by Daniel Goleman, Richard Boyatzis and Annie McKee

    Ksh 1599

    Brief Summary The New Leaders: Transforming The Art Of Leadership Into The Science Of Results. From the author of the No.1 bestseller Emotional Intelligence 'A well-written and practical guide to the emotions, perfectly pitched in tone and scope.'? Financial Times Building Tomorrow's Leadership? The vital role of emotional intelligence in the new style of management. As business reinvents itself at broadband speed, what makes leaders effective has inevitably been transformed. Old assumptions and old modes no longer hold; a new style of leadership that works has emerged amidst the chaos of change.  This new leader excels in the art of relationship, the singular expertise that the changing business climate renders indispensable. Excellence is being defined in interpersonal terms as companies have stripped out layers of managers, as corporations merge across national boundaries, and as customers and suppliers redefine the web of connection. Bestselling author Daniel Goleman argues that emotionally intelligent leaders are now 'must-haves' for business today. But many readers have been left with, 'so now what do I do?' The New Leaders answers that question by laying out the map for transforming leadership in individuals, in teams and organizations.  

  • Quiet by Susan Cain

    Quiet by Susan Cain

    Ksh 1399

    Brief Summary Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking. At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who favor working on their own over working in teams. It is to introverts—Rosa Parks, Chopin, Dr. Seuss, Steve Wozniak—that we owe many of the great contributions to society. In Quiet, Susan Cain argues that we dramatically undervalue introverts and shows how much we lose in doing so. She charts the rise of the Extrovert Ideal throughout the twentieth century and explores how deeply it has come to permeate our culture. She also introduces us to successful introverts--from a witty, high-octane public speaker who recharges in solitude after his talks, to a record-breaking salesman who quietly taps into the power of questions. Passionately argued, superbly researched, and filled with indelible stories of real people, Quiet has the power to permanently change how we see introverts and, equally important, how they see themselves.   

  • Why Men Can Only Do One Thing at A Time and Women Never Stop Talking

    Why Men Can Only Do One Thing at A Time and Women Never Stop Talking

    Ksh 1399

    Brief Summary In this hilarious book, Allan and Barbara Pease highlight the differences between men and women in the way they think and act.  Why are women radar detectors; why do men hate to be wrong? Each page features a snippet of wisdom, bound to produce laughter from even the most cynical soul.  The perfect giftbook for men and women.  

  • This Is How You Pitch How To Kick Ass In Your First Years of PR by Ed Zitron

    This Is How You Pitch How To Kick Ass In Your First Years of PR by Ed Zitron

    Ksh 2299

    Brief Summary So you want to work in PR? Does the idea of glamorous parties, open bars and rubbing elbows with the rich and famous sound like an exciting career for you? Then neither this book nor a career in Public Relations are for you.  This book will teach you all you need to know about public relations, from what to do on your first day at your desk to how to start your own PR agency. You’ll learn the core skill of the business: pitching. It’ll also tell you how to avoid becoming a buzzword-spitting automaton that the media will hate.  Written by a PR veteran who has done it all – and made every mistake along the way – This Is How You Pitch is an honest, direct guidebook to Public Relations and how to survive your first years in the business and how to turn it into a prosperous, fulfilling career.  

Subscribe our newsletter

Subcribe to Our newsletter and get exclusive offers and discounts